Ballinakill N.S

Go to content

Main menu

History of Ballinakill music


Ballinakill was put on the map through the achievements of the Ballinakill Céilí Band, formed back in 1927. The band was formed under the guidance of Fr. Larkin P.P. It's members included Stephen Moloney, Anna Rafferty, Tommy Whelan, Tommy Whyte, and Jerry Moloney. They achieved many accolades in their day. Their recordings were a huge success not only throughout Ireland but across the waters also.
In 1929 they played on Irish radio and went on to play for the Lord Mayor of Dublin , Alfie Byrne.
In 1938 the band played at the Olympia Theatre, Earl's Court, London. At this stage the band had two new members, Aggie Whyte and Kevin Moloney.

By the 1950's the original members had retired but their musical genes were passed on to their children. This next generation formed the new Ballinakill Céilí Band. It's members were Eddie Moloney, Aggie and Bridie Whyte, Jack Coughlan, Martin Grace, Tom Rourke, and Jim Hogan.

By the 1960's the band had again changed. It was now composed of Ambrose Moloney, Eva Whelan. M.B Tierney, Ned McDonnell and Brendan Hogan.

Back to content | Back to main menu